Two dozen file for office on Monday |

Two dozen file for office on Monday

More than two dozen Douglas County residents filed for elected office on Monday, with the only local race developing for sheriff, so far.

Sheriff Ron Pierini and challenger Michael Gyll both filed on Monday morning. Pierini has been sheriff since 1996, running unopposed for four terms. This year former county commissioner and school board trustee Dave Brady and retired NHP trooper Gyll have announced they will run against him, setting up the first primary since the Legislature made sheriff a nonpartisan office.

District Attorney Mark Jackson was the first person to file for office on Monday morning.

Jackson, a Republican, filed for his third term.

"I'm very excited about the next four years," he said. "I'm proud of the team of prosecutors and support staff in my office. I believe they are the best in the state."

Also filing first thing Monday were Public Administrator Claudette Springmeyer and Minden-Gardnerville Sanitation District Trustee Mark Dudley.

Recommended Stories For You

County Commissioner Nancy McDermid said she was paying her property taxes, as well as filing for her third and final term.

McDermid, a Republican, said the commission will face a lot of challenges over the next few months in addition to the election, including the search for a new county manager in the midst of the county budget process.

County Manager Steve Mokrohisky announced Friday he was taking a job as county administrator in Lane County, Ore. He said he would serve as county manager through the April budget workshops.

Clerk-Treasurer Ted Thran said inquiries into county offices besides sheriff have been light.

Assessor Doug Sonnemann and Recorder Karen Ellison filed for re-election before noon on Monday. East Fork Constable Paul Gilbert, who holds the distinction as the county's longest-serving elected official, filed on Monday afternoon. Gilbert took office in January 1983.

Unlike legislative officers, who are limited to 12 years in office, constitutional officers like constable or assessor have no term limits. Sonnemann will be seeking his fourth term in office, Gilbert his seventh.

School board trustees Ross Chichester and Thomas Moore filed for re-election to their seats. One school board seat will be without an incumbent since Sharla Hales will be prevented from filing due to term limits.

Seats on the town boards of Minden and Gardnerville were spoken for on Monday. Minden Town Board members Matt Bernard, Roxanne Stangle and Charlie Condron all filed for re-election. Gardnerville incumbents Linda Slater and Kenneth Miller both filed for re-election, along with newcomer Cassandra Jones. Gardnerville incumbent Mike Philips is term-limited.

Two Minden-Gardnerville Sanitation District trustee Raymond Wilson filed for re-election as did hopeful Michael D. King.

Denise Pierini filed for another term on the Indian Hills General Improvement District Board.

Lake Tahoe candidates include the Marla Bay General Improvement District incumbents Carol Ann and John Anthony McQuirk, and Logan Creek General Improvement District's Dave Moore.

In state races, Republican Sen. James Settelmeyer is seeking re-election to his District 17 seat.

Assembly District 39 incumbent Jim Wheeler and challenger Robin Reedy both filed with the Nevada Secretary of State's Office on Monday.

County filing slowed down on Tuesday, with four candidates, including Gardnerville Ranchos trustee Shari James, filing for improvement districts.

Go back to article