Clerk-Treasurer Ted Thran wins primary election |

Clerk-Treasurer Ted Thran wins primary election

by Kurt Hildebrand

Clerk-Treasurer Ted Thran defeated a credible challenger in former Assemblyman Lynn Hettrick to win his first election to the position he was appointed to in August 2008.

Thran said he was grateful to all the people who supported him.

“I really appreciate everyone who came out to support me,” he said Tuesday night.

Thran won 4,021 votes in the only purely countywide race in the Republican primary election. Hettrick got 3,315 votes, and Stephanie Brooks received 739 votes. Thran will go on to face Independent American Robert Conner in the general election.

Turnout for the primary was 42.23 percent, with the highest number of voters among Republicans. In all 58.61 percent of Republicans cast a ballot early or on Election Day. Only 33.48 percent of Democrats participated in the primary, along with 10.10 percent of non-aligned voters.

In the only non-partisan race on the ballot, Matt Bernard, Roxanne Stangle and Robert Hellwinkel took the top three spots in the first primary for Minden Town Board. Only one candidate will be eliminated in the race, Jon S. Erb. William Souligny, Charles Condron and Robert Pohlman will join the three leaders on the general election ballot.

Recommended Stories For You

In the four-way race for Assembly District 39, top fundraiser former county commissioner Kelly Kite also turned out to the top vote-getter.

According to the Secretary of State’s Web site, Kite received 2,922 votes to runner-up Jim Wheeler’s 2,344. Former Douglas County commissioner Barbara Smallwood came in third with 2,050, and in fourth place was Janet Murphy with 1,600 votes. Kite will go on to face Democrat JoEtta Brown and Independent American David Schumann in the general election.

Assemblyman James Settelmeyer won his race for state senate, defeating opponent Steve Yeater 11,304-2,034.

Douglas County voters mirrored the statewide results, choosing Sharron Angle over Sue Lowden, Brian Sandoval over Gov. Jim Gibbons. Douglas Democrats overwhelmingly supported father and son Harry and Rory Reid over their opponents.

With Bridgeport the only precinct reporting in Mono County, Sheriff Richard Scholl is leading challenger Richard C. Scholl, 103-65 votes. There is a two-vote margin between the leader for 4th District Supervisor, Tim Hansen, and challenger Renn Nolan. Hansen leads 61-59 votes. Tim Fesko has 37 votes and Bob Tems has 8 votes.

Go back to article