Clerk-treasurer Ted Thran says farewell |

Clerk-treasurer Ted Thran says farewell


The number of candidates seeking to replace Clerk-Treasurer Ted Thran doubled to an even dozen on Friday.

Chief Deputy Treasurer Terry Lundergreen filed for the job, as did Douglas County Deputy Clerk-Treasurer Mary Wenner and Appraiser Trent Tholen with the Douglas County Assessor's Office.

Both Wenner and Tholen serve on town boards in the county.

Also filing on Friday were Erin Marie Stieber, Eileen Thomas and David Stage. Filing before Thursday morning were Robin Reedy, Sarah Jardine, Sherry Rodriguez, Jennifer Orman, Denise Dunt and Megan LaCost.

Thran said Friday was his last official day as clerk-treasurer.

He resigned earlier in the month because he said he needed a break.

Recommended Stories For You

Thran is a 1981 graduate of Douglas High School and a 1986 graduate of the University of Nevada, Reno, where he received a degree in business administration, accounting.

Which of the 12 candidates will take his place is up to Douglas County commissioners. They are scheduled to discuss the appointment at their Sept. 18 meeting in Statline. Clerk-treasurer is a partisan position. Thran is unopposed on the November ballot. He could retake his seat on Jan. 1 if anyone votes for him. More likely though he would tender a second resignation. In 2010, Lynn EnEarl resigned as public administrator a few months before appearing on the November ballot. She resigned a second time after she was elected and her successor was re-appointed. The position will come up for election in 2016 and again in 2018.

Thran, a Republican, served in the office since he was appointed to replace longtime Clerk-Treasurer Barbara Griffin when she retired in 2008. He was elected to his current term in 2010.

According to state law, the clerk serves the Board of County Commissioners and the district courts. As treasurer the position is in charge of keeping the county's books, collecting taxes and payments, fees and fines.

Only seven people have served in the seat since it was combined with the treasurer's office in 1888. Father and son H.C. and H.R. Jepson were clerk-treasurers in Douglas County from 1900 to 1954. H.R. Jepson was toppled by Earnhardt Thran, who served in the seat from 1954 to 1974.

Go back to article