Caryn Haller

Follow Me

Back to: News
May 15, 2014
Follow News

Debbie Haskins named employee of the year

Minden Elementary School secretary Debbie Haskins now has an engraved clock for her desk and a frame for her license plate.

The 21-year veteran was named Douglas County School District’s Classified Employee of the Year on Wednesday.

“I was very surprised. I feel like I work hard and do my job well, but so do a lot of other people, too,” Haskins said of her awards. “It’s nice to be recognized with this honor.”

Haskins started her career with DCSD in 1993 at Jacks Valley Elementary School. She moved to Minden elementary when it opened in 1996.

In 2003 she became Secretary II under principal Ken Stoll.

“He’s a great person and a great leader. He sets the tone for the school and helped me be the person I am,” Haskins said of her boss. “I’ve wanted to work in a school since I was in high school. I enjoy the people I work with. They are very positive, happy and energized every day.”

Some of Haskins’ responsibilities include working with the school budget, ordering for the school as well as helping students, teachers and parents.

“I prefer working at the school site because of the children and teachers. It’s where education is happening,” Haskins said. “I’ve made my work here my life, and I’m really grateful to have had the opportunity to work here.”

Haskins was chosen from 16 nominees for the recognition at a ceremony held at Minden Park on Wednesday.

“Debbie embodies the concept of a team player. She never hesitates putting in the extra eflort required regardless of the task. Her calm, composed demeanor is a true asset for the office at MES,” her nomination letter stated. “The parents rely on her, the students truly respect her and she is outstanding with the staff members. Debbie is a true gift in the office, making everyone’s visit to MES a welcoming and positive experience.”

Other employees who were recognized by their schools include Jason Berry, Lydia McCalister, Troy Owen, Tim Grove, Therese Shaw, Marci Walling, Vemon Nann, Hayward Allsip, Maria Peredo, Debra Severns, Roy Gitthens, David Garcia, Rob Gitthens, Joe Roybal and Jana Collins.

Stories you may be interested in

The Record Courier Updated May 16, 2014 06:31AM Published May 15, 2014 01:02PM Copyright 2014 The Record Courier. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.